summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
-rw-r--r--static/features.html21
1 files changed, 18 insertions, 3 deletions
diff --git a/static/features.html b/static/features.html
index b28cdf99..1ce4646d 100644
--- a/static/features.html
+++ b/static/features.html
@@ -470,6 +470,12 @@
<p>The standard INTERNET permission used as the basis for the Network
permission toggle is enhanced with a second layer of enforcement and proper
support for granting/revoking it on a per-profile basis.</p>
+
+ <p>To avoid breaking compatibility with Android apps, the added permission
+ toggle is enabled by default. However, the OS app installation UI has been
+ extended to show the toggle as part of the installation confirmation page so
+ users can disable it when installing an app. This will be extended to the app
+ repository client included in the OS in the future.</p>
</section>
<section id="sensors-permission-toggle">
@@ -478,9 +484,18 @@
<p>Sensors permission toggle: disallow access to all other sensors not covered
by existing Android permissions (Camera, Microphone, Body Sensors, Activity
Recognition) including an accelerometer, gyroscope, compass, barometer,
- thermometer and any other sensors present on a given device. To avoid breaking
- compatibility with Android apps, the added permission is enabled by
- default.</p>
+ thermometer and any other sensors present on a given device. When access is
+ disabled, apps receive zeroed data when they check for sensor values and don't
+ receive events. GrapheneOS creates an easy to disable notification when apps
+ try to access sensors blocked by the permission being denied. This makes the
+ feature more usable since users can tell if the app is trying to access this
+ functionality.</p>
+
+ <p>To avoid breaking compatibility with Android apps, the added permission is
+ enabled by default. When an app attempts to access sensors and receives zeroed
+ data due to being denied, GrapheneOS creates a notification which can be
+ easily disabled. The Sensors permission can be set to be disabled by default
+ for user installed apps in Settings ➔ Privacy.</p>
</section>
<section id="storage-scopes">